Texas Counties Deliver – learn how county government serves you

Medina County Emergency Services District (ESD) Number 5 is a political subdivision of the State of Texas, created by a public vote in 2007 to provide fire protection services in a specific area. The governing statute for an ESD is Chapter 775 of the Texas Health & Safety Code.

Medina County Emergency Services District 5 is based in Natalia, but we are not part of the city government or the municipal development district.

We are governed by a Board of Emergency Services Commissioners who as volunteers, are appointed by the Medina County Commissioners Court.

As an ESD, we are funded primarily by property taxes, which by law are capped for all ESDs at $0.10 per $100 of home value, plus a sales tax supplement. Our service area covers approximately 54 square miles, including the City of Natalia at the center, and in portions of the unincorporated areas of Devine and Lytle (within the Medina County Boundary).

We currently have 2 fire stations, the main station in the City of Natalia and our sub-station located at 19210 F.M. 463, Natalia.

Through our efforts in working with both Natalia VFD and Lytle VFD we have achieved an Insurance Services Office (ISO) rating of 2. This rating is used by many insurance companies to determine what the cost would be for residential and commercial properties within the district.

Click here to see our SERVICE AREA MAP